Quote:
Originally posted by sprivitor
Hi Folks.
With R1 on 2nd base, ball is hit to right field, R1 is forced completely out of base path (good 7 feet) because of obstructing F5 and F6, R1 rounds 3rd and on throw from F9, a close play at home has R1 tagged out.
It is clear that R1 would've made home safely had there been no obstruction. However, BU feels that obstruction only protects R1 to the "next" base. Doesn't obstruction protect the runner to the base they would've made had their been no obstruction? And from there, they're advancing at own risk?
Thanks
|
Let's just say if you'd been the umpire and
in your judgement the runner would have made it home, then you blew the call. Gotta remember, it's all based on the ump's judgement. Your judgement may be different from theirs.