View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 15, 2004, 08:16pm
TexBlue TexBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Quote:

Let me throw one at you all...saw it at a 12U national 4 years ago.
Three umpire system.
Bases loaded, 2 outs. Hard grounder between shortstop and second base. R2 collides with F6 moving left to get ball. 3BU holds out left arm signaling obstruction. Three runs score as ball rolls all the way to fence. After play, 3BU is still holding arm out. PU calls for conference. All umpires meet. PU asks 3BU what they saw; 3BU says I have interference on R2 for colliding with fielder. Now;

1. Everyone saw her signal obstruction

2. 1BU didn't see what was happening

3. PU knows that if he calls interference on R2, he pulls three runs (and the lead) off of the board.

Winning team advances to Sunday games.

What do you call as PU? [/B]
OK, this was 12-U Nationals, close to the end of it apparently. How can an umpire at that level not know interference is a dead ball, not a delayed dead ball? Something is missing from the mix, here. As a PU, they could have called interference also. But, after letting the play continue, I'm not sure the PU can go back and say "Oh, by the way, that's a dead ball, she's out" without a lot of flak. The raised arm indicating OBS is not an issue to me. We all have a brain fart sometimes. But, you gotta recognize the mistake sooner or later and rectify it. At this point, I believe the PU has to tell the 3rd BU about the mechanics of interference. Then she needs to make the announcement of interference and the out. Then, the fun begins. And the 3rd BU is gonna have to let them have some fun, for awhile. A short while. Under ASA Rule 10-Section 6-C, a PU is allowed to correct a call, if, as in this case, it puts the defense in jeopardy. But, after conferring with the 3rd BU, there is no way those runs are allowed to score, since they agree interference happened.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote