Merry Christmas To All ...
5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team’s own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.
5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.
Comments On The 2001-02 Revisions
Three point basket clarified. Three points shall be awarded for any ball thrown, passed, or shot from beyond the three point arc that passes through a team’s own basket. Where in most situations a try can be differentiated from a pass, to eliminate possible confusion this change should help to clarify by not requiring judgment as to whether the ball in flight was a pass or a try.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The NFHS has made it clear through play rulings that the thrown ball must have a chance to enter the basket on its own prior to any deflection in order to count for three points. Recall the case play in which the shot comes down several feet short, strikes a defender in the shoulder, bounces up and into the goal. The ruling is only two points.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Did they take that casebook play out? I remember that as well.
|
4.41.4 - Situation B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. Ruling: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)
Check this out:
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...ee-points.html
There's a lot to digest here, including a ruling by IAABO that contradicts itself (I'm am perfectly aware that few Forum members belong to IAABO).
I have to leave for Christmas dinner at my daughter's house, but I'll be back to comment later, and possibly eat crow if I have any appetite left.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 25, 2022 at 07:56pm.
|