Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
NCAAM Case Book:
A.R. 180. A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles the ball. A1 leaves
the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?
RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow
his whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall
re-administer the throw-in.
(Rule 7-6.8.d and 4-16.1)
|
Nice college citation bob jenkins.
Does it matter if the inbounder fumbles because of a bad hand off, or a bad bounce pass from the administering official, or if the inbounder has complete control and then fumbles as he is making the inbound pass?
In my high school game, If I make a bad hand off, or a bad bounce pass, leading to a fumble, I'm sounding my whistle and readministering.
If I make a good hand off, or a good bounce pass, and the inbounder fumbles after having full control, I wouldn't readminister.
9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for leaving the designated spot.
Similar to a fumble by the free thrower, the ball going into the lane.
9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No free-throw violation should be ruled in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)