Thread: Violation???
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 04:19pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
As noted, 9-2-11 says no teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins. Penalty is ball awarded OOB at the original throw-in spot.

BUT....
it is a legal throw-in when a pass is caught by a teammate OOB. It is an OOB violation (and not a throw-in violation) and the new throw-in will be at the OOB spot where the pass was caught, not the original throw-in spot.

So...
If a teammate catches the ball while OOB, it seems he has violated the provision that says no teammate shall be OOB after a spot throw-in starts.

How do we reconcile these seemingly conflicting rules?
By recognizing that the former is meant to address the situation where the inbounding team tries to switch inbounders, or act as if it's a "run the endline" type of play and fake (or make) a throw to someone else on the endline.

The latter is for the "normal" type of OOB violation.
Reply With Quote