View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 11:16am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,026
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Rule 8-1-3 states "Grants and signals a player’s/head coach’s oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when:..."

Many times I will hear a time-out request, and all conditions are met, but by the time I signal (whistle and hand), the ball may be out of player control. I tell the coach that there was player control at the time of the request. The rule doesn't say "such request being granted and signaled only when..."

Am I correct?
Yes, and I always verbalize loudly, such as--"before the pass/travel/loose ball/held ball, time-out White".
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote