Always Grant ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers
Why would an official grant a timeout that a team does not have?
|
With few exceptions (successive timeouts with zeros on the clock) officials always grant timeouts when legally requested (team's player holding, or dribbling, or dead ball), even if the team has already used all their alloted timeouts. Even when, due to a mistake involving the scorekeeper and officials, the coach had not been informed that he had used all his alloted timeouts. That's why there is an excess timeout technical foul the rulebook. Also, since it's "penalized when discovered", a technical foul can be charged several minutes, and several live balls and dead balls, after the excess timeout is granted (possibly due to a corrected scorebook mistake, or a communication problem between the scorekeeper and the officials).
Chris Webber's Infamous Timeout: https://youtu.be/-QPB9NBUG2g
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Sep 23, 2017 at 11:43am.
|