The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2017, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Iron City, TN
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to reffish
Successive time outs

Did you know that successive timeouts apply to both teams? I thought it only applied to one team calling successive timeouts. Kinda neat what you learn when you read the Rules Book.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2017, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by reffish View Post
Did you know that successive timeouts apply to both teams? I thought it only applied to one team calling successive timeouts. Kinda neat what you learn when you read the Rules Book.....


Let's get this game going!
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 21, 2017, 05:56am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

A successive time-out is one which is granted to either team before the clock has started following the previous time-out. Successive time-outs shall not be granted after the expiration of playing time for the fourth quarter or any extra period.

5.11.7 SITUATION A: Airborne shooter A1 is fouled by B1 with the try in flight.
The horn then sounds ending the fourth quarter playing time. The ball continues
its flight and goes through the basket to tie the score. Before A1 attempts the free
throw as part of the fourth quarter, Team B captain requests and is granted a 60-
second time-out. Team A or B captain then requests a 30-second time-out during
the same dead-ball period. RULING: The second request is denied. At the end of
playing time for the fourth quarter or any overtime period, successive time-outs
shall not be granted. This means a time-out cannot be granted either team until
the clock has run in the extra period – assuming the free throw is missed.
Successive time-outs may be granted in all situations except after time has
expired in the fourth quarter or any extra period.

5.11.7 SITUATION B: Following the expiration of time for the first extra period,
the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out
before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. The
time-out request is granted. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw
to A1. Following the attempt: (a) Team B; or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.
RULING: The request cannot be granted in either (a) or (b), as it would be consid -
ered a successive time-out. The fact that the ball did become live between the two
requests has no bearing on the ruling. Another time-out request by either team
cannot be honored until after the clock has started in the second extra period.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Sep 21, 2017 at 05:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 22, 2017, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
A successive time-out is one which is granted to either team before the clock has started following the previous time-out. Successive time-outs shall not be granted after the expiration of playing time for the fourth quarter or any extra period.

5.11.7 SITUATION A: Airborne shooter A1 is fouled by B1 with the try in flight.
The horn then sounds ending the fourth quarter playing time. The ball continues
its flight and goes through the basket to tie the score. Before A1 attempts the free
throw as part of the fourth quarter, Team B captain requests and is granted a 60-
second time-out. Team A or B captain then requests a 30-second time-out during
the same dead-ball period. RULING: The second request is denied. At the end of
playing time for the fourth quarter or any overtime period, successive time-outs
shall not be granted. This means a time-out cannot be granted either team until
the clock has run in the extra period – assuming the free throw is missed.
Successive time-outs may be granted in all situations except after time has
expired in the fourth quarter or any extra period.

5.11.7 SITUATION B: Following the expiration of time for the first extra period,
the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out
before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. The
time-out request is granted. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw
to A1. Following the attempt: (a) Team B; or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.
RULING: The request cannot be granted in either (a) or (b), as it would be consid -
ered a successive time-out. The fact that the ball did become live between the two
requests has no bearing on the ruling. Another time-out request by either team
cannot be honored until after the clock has started in the second extra period.
So in Situation A, Team B calls time out and it is granted, Team A (not realizing it has no time outs left) requests a time out. If I read the rule correctly, requesting the TO is a TF, but TO is not awarded because it is successive.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2017, 01:01am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Request And Grant Are Not The Same ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
Team A (not realizing it has no time outs left) requests a time out ... requesting the TO is a TF ...
Thanks to LeeBallanfant. I just noticed that a technical foul is not charged for being granted an excess timeout, but rather a technical foul is charged for requesting an excess timeout.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reffish View Post
Kinda neat what you learn when you read the Rules Book.
A team shall not: Request an excess time-out.

This wording is quite odd.

Team A has used all their alloted timeouts. Ball handler A1 loses the handle on the ball and has an interrupted dribble when Coach A requests an excess timeout. Official, noting that a Team A player is not in control (holding or dribbling live ball), knows that he cannot grant Team A a timeout in that situation and doesn't immediately grant the timeout, but instead, sounds his whistle and charges Team A with a technical foul for "request(ing) an excess timeout". Team A is never granted their requested timeout.

Is the official correct?

Of course not, but something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

The official may never find out that Team A requested an excess timeout:

The scorer shall: Signal the nearer official each time a team is granted a time-out in excess of the allotted number.

But, the official already has the knowledge:

The scorer shall: Record the time-out information charged to each team and notify a team and its coach, through an official, whenever that team is granted its final allotted charged time-out.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Sep 23, 2017 at 11:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2017, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Why would an official grant a timeout that a team does not have? TF and move on seems pretty obvious, right? Or am I missing something here?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2017, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Team A has used all their alloted timeouts. Ball handler A1 loses the handle on the ball and has an interrupted dribble when Coach A requests an excess timeout. Official, noting that a Team A player is not in control (holding or dribbling live ball), knows that he cannot grant Team A a timeout in that situation and doesn't immediately grant the timeout, but instead, sounds his whistle and charges Team A with a technical foul for "request(ing) an excess timeout". Team A is never granted their requested timeout.

Is the official correct?
Of course not, and nothing is rotten. Since A did not meet the conditions for being granted a TO (PC or at disposal), Coach A did not really "request" a TO in the meaning of the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2017, 05:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Of Course Not ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Of course not ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Of course not ....
Agree. I would still like to see:

A team shall not: Request and be granted an excess time-out.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 09:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
So in Situation A, Team B calls time out and it is granted, Team A (not realizing it has no time outs left) requests a time out. If I read the rule correctly, requesting the TO is a TF, but TO is not awarded because it is successive.
In a situation, like this, I'm just going to tell the coach he cannot even request a time-out by rule.

But since it is never going to happen, I'm not going to fret on it too much.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
In a situation, like this, I'm just going to tell the coach he cannot even request a time-out by rule.

But since it is never going to happen, I'm not going to fret on it too much.
Agree.

Just like when the other team has the ball and it is requested by a coach, you just ignore it because the request is not valid.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
So in Situation A, Team B calls time out and it is granted, Team A (not realizing it has no time outs left) requests a time out. If I read the rule correctly, requesting the TO is a TF, but TO is not awarded because it is successive.

Could this scenario even happen given that each team gets and extra timeout for each overtime -- is it possible for a team to be out of timeouts at the start of OT? I guess it depends on the wording as to when that extra timeout becomes available and I don't have my book with me.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Could this scenario even happen given that each team gets and extra timeout for each overtime -- is it possible for a team to be out of timeouts at the start of OT? I guess it depends on the wording as to when that extra timeout becomes available and I don't have my book with me.
5-11-5

Shall not be granted until the ball becomes live ... so yes a team could be out of timeouts until ball becomes live
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 21, 2017, 11:15am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by reffish View Post
Did you know that successive timeouts apply to both teams? I thought it only applied to one team calling successive timeouts. Kinda neat what you learn when you read the Rules Book.....
That is probably a case book situation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Successive Time Outs 5-11-7 packersowner Basketball 4 Thu Dec 15, 2016 08:37am
Injured Player/Successive Time Outs palmettoref Basketball 58 Sun Oct 07, 2012 05:42am
Successive Time Outs Loudwhistle2 Basketball 9 Mon Jan 09, 2012 01:59pm
Is this a successive time-out? HawkeyeCubP Basketball 9 Sun Jan 14, 2007 03:22pm
time expired/time outs cloverdale Basketball 14 Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1