The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Sep 12, 2014, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member

Help with protecol

Hello fellow officials. I am new to volleyball, and have a question: When I am R-2, where do I stand to mirror the R-1's signal. IOW, if team A loses the point, do I go to their side to mirror? Or do I go to the side who won the point for the mirror? I believe it should be on the side of the team that lost the point because that is the side I'll be on when the serve takes place. Problem is, I've been told BOTH sides are where I should be. My assigner said to go on the side of the winner of the point, but others tell me to go to the loser's side. I get corrected (and sometimes harshly) no matter where I go. The pres. of our org. said to "Look it up in the officials manual." I have looked but cannot find where it says what side to stand on to mirror. Please help me with this (and tell me where to find the answer) so I will do it right. Thanks in advance.
Old Sat Sep 13, 2014, 11:14am
Official Forum Member

Welcome to our ranks-hope you're having a blast
To answer your question you can award from either side.Just make sure you take the step out wide and follow unless its a net or center line that you initiate.For example-

A.You have started transition on contact of serve when the ball is downed for a Ace.Complete the transition and then make your step out and complete your sequence.

B.You are already on the blocking team's side when an attack from team A is shanked into the bleachers.Since you are already on the blocking team's side wait for the ball to be ruled dead then step out and complete your sequence.
The golfing volleyball ref and official scorekeeper
Old Sun Sep 14, 2014, 02:03am
Official Forum Member

1st some semantics, the R2 does not award points, only the R1 awards points.