The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 100
Whether or not your setter is called on an illegal attack has no relevance to her position at the start of the rally. If she is legally in position at the start of the rally, then you shouldn't be penalized with an out of rotation.

However, if she illegally attacks the ball while in the back row, then she will be nailed for an illegal attack. Illegal attacks are judged on the player's position above the vertical plane of the net during the act of playing the ball. Nothing more, nothing less.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Kayla - first of all, your notation shows two players listed as LF in Rotation 1. Probably just a typo, but I had to look at it a couple of times to figure it out. In Rotation 1, assuming that O1 is actually the RF player, the rotation is legal.

Antonio - I think Kayla's question is not so much an "out of rotation" question as it is a question of the R1 not knowing whether the setter is front row or back row at the start of the set and improperly calling a back row attack when the setter is actually a front row player.

Kayla - if you have a sharp R2, when the lineups are checked before the start of the set, he will discreetly indicate the setter's position to the R1 prior to releasing the court to him. It may be to your benefit to mention what you are doing to the R2 and ask him/her to relay the info to the R1 to prevent the erroneous back row attack call.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Kayla - first of all, your notation shows two players listed as LF in Rotation 1. Probably just a typo, but I had to look at it a couple of times to figure it out. In Rotation 1, assuming that O1 is actually the RF player, the rotation is legal.
If the Setter is RF, then OPP would be LB. If setter is RB, then OPP is LF.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NHSF "intentional" vs NCAA "flagarent" terminology Duffman Basketball 17 Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:15pm
Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? fiasco Basketball 46 Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am
OT: Calling the official a "hater" and "loser" bainsey Basketball 35 Wed Sep 14, 2011 03:53pm
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1