The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 21, 2000, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2
1. What is the official's signal when a player from team A bumps the ball and it goes under the net and lands in (or outside) the court on the other side of the net? Is it a net foul, ball lands out of bounds, or ball lands in bounds pointing to court A side?

2. On the first attempt to play the ball, a player from team A attempts to pass the ball but it goes off her arm out of bounds and lands outside the court on her side of the net, is the call a touch or out of bounds? Is it always the same call or does it depend on an obvious shank hit compaired to a slight touch of the ball before it lands out of bounds?

3. If the ball travels outside of the antenna over the net and the umpire clearly sees it, should he make the call? (Especially in high-school VB where the lines people are often inexperienced volunteers.)

4. What is the signal when a player runs into or pushes-off the official's stand?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 21, 2000, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
1- I usually just use signal 13, and point close the net.

2- If she simply mis-hit a ball I will give signal 14. If she really had no control, or if it skips off her arms then I'll call it a touch.

3- If it is a non-judgment call, and the umpire clearly see it, the umpire needs to make the call, and over-rule the line judge if needed.

4- Use your judgement. As long as she is not in danger of hurting herself, doesn't touch the net or poles, and does not gain an advantage by pushing off, let it go. If she pushes you over, kick her out (just kidding).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2000, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to RIVEROAKS Send a message via AIM to RIVEROAKS
signals

1. In ALABAMA HS OR COLLEGE - Its just a down ball on team A side of the net.

2. In Federation , NAGWS AND USAV IT IS ALWAYS A TOUCH IF THE BALL STAYS ON THE SIDE OF THE PASSER. IF THE SHANKED BALL CROSSES THE NET AND LANDS OUT - THEN IT WILL BE AN OUT SIGNAL.

3. THE R2 (UMPIRE) WHISTLES THE NET ATTENNA -ESPECIALLY ON THEIR SIDE. Make sure you look at your partner if you think their might be a violation.

4. Nothing.
__________________
vb ref
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2000, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 3
With regards to scenario #4...if the player uses the stand (or the bench, or another player...) for leverage or balance it's an assisted hit. Play is dead, point awarded.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1