The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 12:10pm
Aleve Titles to Others

Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Working my way through

I am looking at MS volleyball starting up next month. In reading through the rule book--and I am not quite finished--it appears that as the 2nd referee, that substitutions and positioning are the most complex of the rules that I will be dealing with as a new official. Are there certain rules that I should really focus on learning more quickly than others? Thanks.
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member

I'm not sure that I would say that the substitution rule is that complicated but then, I've been officiating for around 20 years. I would say positioning (being able to recognize if a team is in proper alignment) is the most 'complex' rule. I've found from working with new officials that it takes the longest to understand. As I've said before, if you miss an illegal alignment almost no one will even know it. Not that it isn't important, it's just that most fans (and many coaches and players) don't recognize it, either.

The most important rule you should focus on (as R2) is the net and center line rules. The R1 will be following the ball and your partner NEEDS you to be able to keep your focus on the area between the attack lines. As you gain experience you will be able to expand your field of view and be of more assistance to the R1 in other areas but until you have a few games under your belt, stay in your primary (to borrow a basketball term).
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 10:17pm
Aleve Titles to Others

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaREF View Post