The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 11:07am
Official Forum Member

pregame

As a teacher, my off hours duty sometimes requires me to work the lines at varsity volleyball matches. I officiate varsity baseball, football and some college basketball so I know a good pregame is essential. The problem is that during our pregame with the volleyball officials, the music is pumping in the gym and it is difficult to hear. I'm wondering if anyone has a good pregame list that they go over with their linesman that they could post here or post a link for. I've done it before and done fine, but as with anything, if it's worth doing, it's worth doing well. Thanks.
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member

I don't remember where I learned it, but I use the acronym SALT for my pregame with line judges:
  1. Signals - I make sure they know the basic in/out signals, along with reminding them that a ball that touches the line is in. I also ask them to get them in the habit of giving me a signal at all times.
  2. Antennas - Reminder that the antenna extends all the way to the ceiling, and that a ball must pass over the net completely within the antennas, otherwise it is out.
  3. Lines - I tell them the lines for which each will be responsible, and remind them that they are allowed to move to get a better view of their two lines.
  4. Touches - Reminder to watch for touches, and instruct them on the difference between making an out call and a touch call.