The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 08:30am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Good distinction, Felix!
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
I think I follow what you're suggesting: as long as some portion of the contact occurs over the player's court, then you deem that "the contact has been made within his/her own playing space".

The rub is that contact with the ball occurs over an area, not at a point, and the rules don't define "contact". Your reading is consistent with how the game is actually played, how it's actually officiated, how the ball "in" rule is written, how the "foot on the centerline" is written, and (IMHO) how the game ought to be.

The rules committee could have made this unambiguous with just two or three words:

"...provided that the contact has not been made completely beyond his/her own playing space."

Instead, we're forced to invent new concepts out of whole cloth to justify how the game is actually played: "at" the net versus "above" the net, etc.

To make sure I understand you:
1. Attacking a ball that's completely above the opponents' court: always a fault.
2. Attacking a ball that's at least partially above my court: only a fault if my ball contact was completely above the opponents' court.

Right?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 26, 2010, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 784
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seattle32 View Post
To make sure I understand you:
1. Attacking a ball that's completely above the opponents' court: always a fault.
2. Attacking a ball that's at least partially above my court: only a fault if my ball contact was completely above the opponents' court.

Right?
To be more accurate, I'd change "attacking" to "making contact," with the exception of a legal block.

The distinction would cover reaching over to set a ball that is contacted beyond the plane of the net.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
usav 11.1


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USAV Modified Rules Paul Vancouver Volleyball 2 Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:36am
Blocking/attacking a serve steve_s Volleyball 8 Wed Sep 20, 2006 01:35am
Attacking the Serve ReadyToRef Volleyball 3 Tue Sep 14, 2004 03:20pm
using arm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball ysong Basketball 3 Mon Jun 21, 2004 11:19am
Attacking accross the net DaveASA/FED Volleyball 7 Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1