The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Blocking/attacking a serve

I'm a new member here, so bear with me.

Rules 9.6.5 & 9.6.6 state that a served ball may not be blocked or attacked, but I'm confused by the caveat "However, the contact is legal, and the ball is not out of play until it completely crosses the vertical plane of the net or is legally contacted by an opponent".

So what if a player attempts to illegally block a serve, but fails to put the ball back over the net? Her teammates then play the ball legally, and eventually return the ball to the opponent's side. Is there a foul here? Should I call a net foul once the ball eventually crosses, even after a third hit? Or is there no foul because the blocker failed to put it directly back over? Seems like there should be a violation since the ball was both blocked and attacked contrary to the rules, but I'm not sure about if and/or when to blow the whistle.

What say the experts?

Thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-serve DaveASA/FED Volleyball 5 Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:08am
Movement before serve refnrev Volleyball 5 Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:46am
Attacking the Serve ReadyToRef Volleyball 3 Tue Sep 14, 2004 03:20pm
using arm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball ysong Basketball 3 Mon Jun 21, 2004 11:19am
Attacking accross the net DaveASA/FED Volleyball 7 Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1