![]() |
|
|||||||
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
It's not where the ball is so much as where the ball is contacted, under USAV rules.
If the contact point is beyond the plane of the net, it would be in violation of the rule. However, for me to call it, I would have to be absolutely certain that a fault was committed, and I can't say for sure that a play as borderline as you described is obvious enough that most of your quality officials would make this call. 11.1.2 specifies when is it legal to go beyond the net because "at" the net is legal and part of the team's playing area. If contacting above the net were illegal (i.e., teams were required to play the ball before it got to the net), the rule would say something like "above or beyond the net." Above the net (plane of the net) contact is legal. Contact *beyond* the net is what we look for.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee Last edited by FMadera; Fri Mar 26, 2010 at 06:57am. |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| usav 11.1 |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| USAV Modified Rules | Paul Vancouver | Volleyball | 2 | Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:36am |
| Blocking/attacking a serve | steve_s | Volleyball | 8 | Wed Sep 20, 2006 01:35am |
| Attacking the Serve | ReadyToRef | Volleyball | 3 | Tue Sep 14, 2004 03:20pm |
| using arm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball | ysong | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jun 21, 2004 11:19am |
| Attacking accross the net | DaveASA/FED | Volleyball | 7 | Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:38am |