The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 30, 2009, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 123
No Libero?

I took my 17's team to a tournament Sunday and while I was the R2 for our work team, had a team (both times we worked) put in a libero when they did not have one listed on the lineup sheet. What really threw me was that (again, both times) they did not use a libero in the first set and I didn't even notice one on the bench until they were on the court. Also, both times the coach had put a dash through the box for the libero on the lineup sheet, clearly indicating they did not have a libero!

Anyway, the really interesting ruling came from the R1 on the second time it occured. Team A began the match with the serve and scored two points. The next thing I know, a libero runs in for team B as team A was preparing for serve and the libero tracker said "coach, they don't have a libero on their lineup!".

Now, it was late in the day and my mind was still in coach-mode so it took me until after the serve for my mind to comprehend what happened. Rather than kill the play, I figured I would wait until the rally was over and straighten things out. Well, as luck would have it Team B won the rally. I hold up my hand to the R1 and start to walk over to her as the libero runs off the court and is replaced by #31, who she came in for.

As our conversation was going on, team B rotated, team A went in to serve-receive, and the scorer had given team B the point. I inform the R1 what happened and I said it should be an illegal alignment, team B loses the point, and team A continues to serve. She agrees but throws me for a loop. She says that since team B had already rotated, they stay in that rotation, lose the point, team A gets the serve, and they also rotate to their next server.

I said "No, it was an illegal alignment, team A gets the point, and we stay with the same server." She tells me, "No. If you had blown your whistle when you first noticed the libero it would have been an illegal alignment. But since you waited until after the play was over to inform me, team B loses the point but they still rotate. Team A earns a point and they rotate to the next server."

I was in no mood to argue the point and I'm sure she felt I was a lowly coach who was barely capable of calling a center line violation so I walked away. I went back to the scorers table, told my scorekeeper to cancel the point, award it to team A, and both teams would rotate. She looked at me like I had two heads as she said "What am I supposed to do about an exit score for team B's first server?" I said "Leave it blank and if anyone has any questions about it, they can ask her!"
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
libero and serving Andy Volleyball 6 Thu Oct 18, 2007 02:12pm
Libero replacement Scrapper1 Volleyball 5 Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:12pm
Libero mplagrow Volleyball 2 Mon Feb 05, 2007 01:12pm
How many did and didn't use Libero refnrev Volleyball 4 Sun Sep 03, 2006 07:39pm
Adjustment to the libero refnrev Volleyball 4 Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1