The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Felix is right (and in other news, the sun rose in the east yet again today).

NFHS 8-2-7: When a receiving team player is out of position on the serve and:
a. The ball is served illegally, the serving team is penalized;
b. A service fault occurs, the receiving team is penalized.

NFHS 8-2-5, 6 define the illegal serve and the service fault. The OP is an illegal serve.
The wording here would confuse me at a glance.

Typically my understanding is that R1 is in full authority from serve beckon and then to determine if ball is served withing time limit and without foot fault. Once ball is legally contacted, then any out of position at the time of ball contact can be assessed by R2.

So that leaves me with one question here.

What if the serving team is out of position, but with correct server. Receiving team is also out of position or overlapped player(s). Who would get penalized? Or is it replay?

Last edited by OmniSpiker; Fri Oct 03, 2008 at 12:57pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1