![]() |
|
|||
As Felix said, this is a major difference between NFHS/NCAA and FIVB/USAV. As was written, a player cannot play the ball by reaching hands across the net to contact the ball above the opponent's court. There are only two legal instances - as Felix mentioned: a legal block; and the other is on a legal follow-through on a attack hit. The essence of this rule is that there is no longer a set save allowed - by that I mean the ball is overpassed and enters the plane of the net. In NFHS and NCAA, the back-row setter can go up and attempt to play the ball back to her side of the net - in those rule codes, it is perfectly legal to do so. FIVB and USAV, however have eliminated that option. If anyone reaches across the net to play the ball back to their own side while the ball is still in the plane, the whistle is blown because the individual is guilty of a reach-over foul.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
China vs Venezuela | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 32 | Fri Aug 15, 2008 02:58pm |
USA v China | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 14 | Mon Aug 11, 2008 05:21pm |
U.S.A. against CHINA | spyros | Football | 0 | Fri Sep 29, 2006 06:27am |
Hello from Shanghai, China | Luis | Basketball | 9 | Wed Feb 01, 2006 07:15am |
USA - China Taipai | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 3 | Sat Aug 28, 2004 12:40pm |