The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 48
Is there an easy way?

I have a couple of questions that I would like to be clear on.
1.) When stepping on the centerline, in order to have a violation, does the whole foot need to be past the centerline? or can any part of the foot be considered in violation? Also, does this apply to any other part of the body? (i.e. hand, knee, elbow, etc...)
2.) Illegal alignment, is there an easy way to call IA? or is it as complicated as what others who try to explain it make it seem? Is alignment front to back as well as side to side? Can a front row player be behind a back row player (Rf behind the CB or RB) Does IA concern the setter as well? or is this person absolved from IA.

Any help on these two subjects would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
__________________
Ray
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maroa, IL
Posts: 116
The foot needs to be completely over the centerline for there to be a violation. No other part of the body can be on or over the line.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by IHSAref
The foot needs to be completely over the centerline for there to be a violation. No other part of the body can be on or over the line.
Wrong.

Any part of the body can be on the line. The hand or foot can be beyond the center line, provided some part is on or over.

Any other body part beyond the center line is illegal. Beyond, not "on."
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maroa, IL
Posts: 116
I ment to say can not be on or over...i need to take typing 101 again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by IHSAref
I ment to say can not be on or over...i need to take typing 101 again
But your statement was still incorrect in two ways.

1. The hand may also be over, so long as part of it is on or above the line.
2. Any other body part may be on the line. The line is still part of that team's area (same with the other team as well). Being on the line is still being in your team's area, and is not illegal. Therefore, it's not illegal for another body part to be on the line. It is only illegal for a body part that is not a hand or foot to be BEYOND the center line.

Touching line - OK
Touching wood or sport court beyond the line - BAD

Unless, of course, there's interference, but that's another discussion for another day.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Nope, there's not an easy way with IA ... just like the block/charge or travel/no travel etc. in basketball aren't easy. At times it will jump out at you and at times you will be blind to it. Experience and practice help, but it's tough to learn, especially if, like nearly all of us guys, you didn't play it or coach it. I think someone mentioned going over the case book pictures. Do it over and over and over.... but every now and then you'll get a complex formation like we had last night. It was legal, but it sure looked close to overlapping. Good luck! And do what I do.. keep asking questions.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
1) See 9-5-7.
2) See 6-3-3. RB, for example, can overlap RF, but not CF. No player is exempt from alignment except for the a server who can be to the left of the CB when he/she contacts serve. (Exempt from alignment, of course, doesn't mean they can serve out of order.)
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee

Last edited by FMadera; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 10:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2007, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera
1) See 9-5-7.
2) See 6-3-3. RB, for example, can overlap RF, but not CF. No player is exempt from alignment except for the a server who can be to the left of the CB when he/she contacts serve. (Exempt from alignment, of course, doesn't mean they can serve out of order.)
Felix:

Did you intend to say, "RB, for example, can overlap CF, but not RF."?

I believe if RB overlaps RF at the moment the ball is contacted for the serve, illegal alignment has occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2007, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbsbvb83
Felix:

Did you intend to say, "RB, for example, can overlap CF, but not RF."?

I believe if RB overlaps RF at the moment the ball is contacted for the serve, illegal alignment has occurred.
No, I meant to say RB can overlap RF, (and it would be illegal for that to occur), but you can never have a situation where RB is overlapping CF. Not possible, by rule.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easy one for us all... LLPA13UmpDan Baseball 2 Mon Jan 01, 2007 01:35am
Easy one IRISHMAFIA Softball 13 Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:40pm
Three Easy Ones egausch Basketball 6 Tue Mar 12, 2002 05:11pm
Another Easy Play [probably too easy for this board] whiskers_ump Softball 14 Sat Mar 09, 2002 04:59pm
easy way out moose69 Basketball 17 Fri Mar 01, 2002 09:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1