The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 02, 2006, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
More questions

Freshman tournament this past weekend. Fed rules. Had three incidents I would like clarified.

First, last match of the day. Team A played the previous match on the same court. Team B is coming over from the next court. We give both teams a few minutes to get settled in and/or take a quick break. When we're ready to begin, I let Team B coach know to get her captains for the prematch conference. Immediately go over to Team A coach and inform him I need him and his captain. After a minute, Team B coach and captains are ready, but Team A coach is still immersed in his clipboard, with no sign of anyone from his team inside the gym. I remind Team A coach that we're ready to start and ask him where his captain is. He doesn't say anything but points in the general direction of the locker rooms. I say one last time "Coach, we need you and your captain now". He stands up and throws his clipboard to the ground. I immediately access a yellow card. My question regards the timing of the card. Was I okay to access it then and there, or should I have informed him of the card and waited for the beginning of the match to "formally" access it?

Secondly, same match. We are going to a third and deciding game. We call captains up to the net for the coin flip. Let me note now that the stands were set up on the same side of the court as the benches. I'm up in the stand when I notice that Team B coach has joined the captains while my partner is reviewing the options. I quietly tell Team B coach that we only need captains. She apologizes and goes back to her bench. Was I correct in not allowing her to participate?

Thirdly, same match still. Team B coach has fallen asleep at the wheel and has not turned in a lineup even as the three minutes elapses. Team A is out on the court and my partner comes over from the scorers table and announces that he does not have a lineup from Team B and is assessing a loss of point. Is there a signal for this? I gave Signal 17 for point to Team A and we made sure the scoreboard read 1-0 before we started the third game, but I would like to know the correct mechanics for handling this situation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Questions tomegun Basketball 23 Wed Feb 15, 2006 07:18am
Two Questions coachmjw Basketball 18 Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:37am
questions re: [email protected] Baseball 13 Mon Jun 02, 2003 07:16am
2 Questions brumey1107 Basketball 11 Wed Oct 02, 2002 12:22pm
Some questions.... accurate Softball 1 Sun Aug 25, 2002 08:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1