The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2005, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
would this be a legal substitution, 10 starts, 5 subs in to serve, 8 subs in to play back row, and 10 comes back in to play front row
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2005, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 618
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Perfectly legal.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally posted by chaze44
would this be a legal substitution, 10 starts, 5 subs in to serve, 8 subs in to play back row, and 10 comes back in to play front row
Thanks
I had an official tell me that I could not do that and she would not allow the substitution
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 618
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Next time ask her why, and when she tells you, use your protest procedure (11-3-1) based on casebook example 10-3-1-B.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 10:54am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
chaze44, as Felix stated, the substitutions as you described them are pefectly legal.

I am going to bet that the official who would not allow the sub wanted you to put 5 back in, didn't she?

This is a common mistake that is made by inexperienced officials who do not realize that if there are 3 or more players subbing into the same position, any one of them can go in for the player on the court and it does not have to be the player who was replaced by the current sub who is on the court. As long as a player subs in and out of any one position during the game, they are fine and the substitution is legal.

As Felix suggested, show them or ask them to look at Case Book 10.3.1 Situation B:

"Team A makes the following substitutions: 11 for 13, and then 9 for 11, then 12 for 9 and then 13 for 12. RULING: Legal. COMMENT: These players may enter the game an unlimited amount of time as long as the entry is in the original position and the total number of substitutes does not exceed 18. Any number of players may enter into a position. However, none of these players may enter into a different position in the rotation order for that game."
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Subbing

So based on the comment, subs are locked into positions rather than players.
While the Liberio is locked into a player rather than a position ....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 618
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Chaze,

The libero is locked into one of three positions (back row). She is only locked in to one player in that she must come off for the same person she came on for, but otherwise, she is not restricted to a position except for back row.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Ah, I want to confirm that subbing for a server is perfectly legal with USAV 2006-07 rules while having serve possession. Plus what is the take on NHFS and NCAA rules.

Team A has server player 1 makes serve and earns an Ace. Team A coach calls for substition of server. The substitution is allowed. Player 1 is subbed out for player 7, who then continues to serve for the next rally. Player 7 makes serve, and Team A wins another point.

Now I can't find any ruling that says this can't be done. A coach who was reffing was going to penalyze the team that had just done that, but the opposing coach mention that to me and I said the current USAV rules doesn't say you can't do that. I read it legal to substitute a server in the middle of the team's serve possession.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 06:36pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
It's perfectly legal in all codes....

The coach who was reffing was totally incorrect. Any legal substitute may enter the game for anyone else at any time as long as the substitution occurs during a dead ball (exception: not allowed during a reserve in college women, USAV 14 & Under and NFHS).

Have the reffing coach read USAV 15.6 or NFHS Rule 10, sections 1, 2 and 3.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Thanks Jan,

I will be more assertive if next time this should happen.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaze44
I had an official tell me that I could not do that and she would not allow the substitution
__________________________

Did she say what her rationale for not allowing it was?
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1