The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2004, 01:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Judgment call. Did the player make "intentional contact"? And did it interfere with an attempt to play the ball.

See rule 9-6-7.d.2.

Most of the time, it won't be an issue with an attack which goes into the net - the attack is the third hit and there can be no interference with an attempt to play the ball as the attacking team has no more hits left. Then, the only question
is whether the "force of the ball push(ed) the net or net cables into the player". If so, no violation. If not, net violation on defensive player. Rule 9-6-7.a.

If the attacking team still has a hit left, then it's a judgment call as to whether the contact was intentional and whether it interfered with an attempt to play the ball.

-Homer-


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1