The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 29, 2004, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by Homer


'Course, if the joust forces the ball into the antenna, it's a dead ball with the point awarded to the team opposite the side the ball eventually falls off on.

-Homer-
According to the NFHS casebook (situation 9.4.6) when a joust results in the ball rolling along the top of the net into the antenna, the correct ruling is replay.

You never know with the rules mavens, but I think the logic is that a joust is simultaneous contact & considered instantaneous under 9.4.6.c, and since the ball becomes dead the instant it touches the antenna, 9.4.6.d doesn't come into play.

We had one last night towards the end of a very close match - joust between A & B, ball rolls along top of net towards antenna, but falls off before touching it & lands OOB on A's side of the net. Ruling - point awarded to A, as under 9.4.6.d B is considered to have last touched the ball.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1