Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera
Did you deny the sub? Did you try to get them out of the sub zone?
|
Yes, and yes.
Quote:
|
By rule, not acknowledging the sub means the serving team can serve, and whatever happens after that happens.
|
Right. But by doing that, I'm most likely gifting the serving team a point.
Quote:
|
You also could have whistled it, denied it, and then issued the delay.
|
This is actually what I did.
The reason I did it this way is because during my women's season, I had a situation as R1 where I beckoned for serve and then the server went to sub out. My R2 tried to wave her back, but they didn't get it. They just didn't understand what was happening. I ended up calling an 8-second violation. My mentor said that, as an assignor, he would prefer me to call the delay warning and not gift a free point to the opponent.