The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2021, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
R1

When, or is ever permissable for a head coach to go over to R1 to question a call he/she made?
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2021, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 633
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
When, or is ever permissable for a head coach to go over to R1 to question a call he/she made?
Thanks in advance.
1. In USA Volleyball, in 14 and under play, when the coach can act as the captain. And even then, that's more of a last resort. It should still go through the captain, unless it's a complicated matter that would be easier to discuss with the coach. Or, in other plan, in EXTREMELY RARE circumstances when the R1 asks the coach to come over (as in, almost never).

In my 21 years of refereeing, the second example above has happened...once.

2. In NFHS if there's a protest (review of incorrect application of rule), and even then, that's better done at the score table or coach's bench area.

Other than that, I've got nothing.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2021, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
Thank you Felix, but I didn't quite get the gist of your response.
By rule, (in Fed), can the coach go over to the R1, during a time out, to discuss a call he/she made?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2021, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Thank you Felix, but I didn't quite get the gist of your response.
By rule, (in Fed), can the coach go over to the R1, during a time out, to discuss a call he/she made?
No.. Send the captain or the coach can talk to R2.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2021, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 633
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Thank you Felix, but I didn't quite get the gist of your response.
By rule, (in Fed), can the coach go over to the R1, during a time out, to discuss a call he/she made?
Absolutely not.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2021, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
ok, but coach goes over to talk to R1 anyway. What's the sanction?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2021, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
Also, I can't find anything in a rule book or case book on this situation.
Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2021, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 633
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
ok, but coach goes over to talk to R1 anyway. What's the sanction?
Well, ideally your R2 is stopping that before it happens, but since you didn't indicate that..."it depends" in my book.

If you can get the coach before they go too far toward you, I think the stern "don't come over here" action might have a verbal warning suffice.

If they continue to ignore, yellow is certainly warranted. If they get over there, can CLEARLY here you tell them to get back to the bench, and still continue, red is not improper. If they STILL refuse to stop after you've shown red...they can hear about the result in the locker room.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2021, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
Thanks again Felix, I'm not trying to be a d***, but is there a rule to backup a yellow/red card for this situation? I can't find it. Just trying to protect myself.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2021, 06:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
12-2-6
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2021, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
Bob, 12-2-6b states 'confer with officials during a requested time out'. To me that would be either the R1 or R2.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2021, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 633
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Bob, 12-2-6b states 'confer with officials during a requested time out'. To me that would be either the R1 or R2.
This specifically refers to 11-3-1. This is not a blanket right during all timeouts.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2021, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
So, it is permissible for the head coach to request a time out, go over to the R1's stand to question a call (by the R1), as long as it is immediately after that specific call.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2021, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 633
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
So, it is permissible for the head coach to request a time out, go over to the R1's stand to question a call (by the R1), as long as it is immediately after that specific call.
Yes, but not if it's about judgement. It has to be to discuss a misapplication of a playing rule, not about them not liking your judgement.

Example:
They cannot come over to complain about ball handling.
They *can* come over to discuss if you allowed a back row player to illegally attack in the front zone, if you said it was legal.

In other words...this should almost never happen.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee

Last edited by FMadera; Fri Apr 16, 2021 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2021, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 139
Got it, Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1