![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Out of play question - runner "earned" base before touching
Scenario - batter hits ball down left field line. Outfielder throws to relay in short left. Throw to 2nd is wide left and goes out of play. Batter had not touched 2nd at the time of the throw. Umpire ruled batter gets home. Explanation was "batter had earned 2nd as there was no play at 2nd". This league gives 2 bases for out of play throws from the outfield 1 from infield.
I had never heard of a runner "earning" a base without touching it. Is this a known rule? Is my ignorance showing? |
|
|||
Quote:
OTOH, stranger league rules have appeared ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
With a runner at first base, the catcher attempts a pick-off to F3. The ball deflects off F3's glove and into DBT. "This league" would only allow the runner second base?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
Batter hits ground ball to shortstop. Batter is about halfway to first base when shortstop throws to first. Ball sails over firstbaseman and out of play. Only one base on a throw from the infield? By that definition, batter gets first base! |
|
|||
Quote:
Not just the "earned" nonsense... but in ASA, except for pitches that go out of play, it's always 2 bases.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Also I just heard back from the league president and the umpire got in trouble with his boss as his explanation spread across the league. Apparently he just made stuff up after I asked about the rule between innings. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
coach told him to "block" the base | kheisner | Baseball | 35 | Tue Jul 13, 2010 04:23pm |
Batter-runner overruns 1st base, makes an "attempt" to go to 2nd.... | Stevetheump | Softball | 28 | Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:16am |
Doug Eddings calls "Obstruction" on himself; protects runner | UMP25 | Baseball | 29 | Sun Oct 07, 2007 02:34pm |
fair ball landing "beyond the base" | John Robertson | Softball | 1 | Mon Aug 28, 2006 03:09pm |