The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2015, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
For NFHS and ASA, when BR overruns first there really isn't a "one stop" as much as there is "where is she committed." Once the ball is controlled in the circle, the direction the BR is going makes all the difference. If she is committed toward first, she cannot go to second. If she is committed to second, she is committed to second. While umpire judgement factors in to "commitment", for me, she is committed when she steps toward first or steps toward second. See ASA RS#34 G.
Scenario: batter runner overruns first and turns right and then realizes that the throw to first has sailed over the F3's head. Batter runner then advances toward second getting about 1/2 of the way there. Pitcher gets ball in circle. BR freezes and then goes back toward first. LBR violation? I haven't read the RS since I don't have it here, but I don't feel like the rule is meant to be read that way.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1