The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Lbr (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99787-lbr.html)

jmkupka Fri May 15, 2015 02:33pm

Lbr
 
Question deals with overrunning into right field (8.7.T.3.b,c,d). Is the point where she turns to come back considered her "one stop" as far as the LBR is concerned?

Play 1:
Events are in this exact order: B1 bunts, def sees no play, throws to F1 in circle. BR overruns, turns,comes back toward 1B, breaks for 2B. No question, out.

Play 2:
B1 lays down a perfect bunt, streaks through 1B, turns to come back to 1B, F5 retrieves bunted ball & throws to F1 in the circle.
At this point, B1 has not had her one stop that she's entitled to. If she breaks for 2B, is she violating 8.7.T.3.b,c or d?

Big Slick Fri May 15, 2015 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 962387)
Question deals with overrunning into right field (8.7.T.3.b,c,d). Is the point where she turns to come back considered her "one stop" as far as the LBR is concerned?

Play 1:
Events are in this exact order: B1 bunts, def sees no play, throws to F1 in circle. BR overruns, turns,comes back toward 1B, breaks for 2B. No question, out.

Play 2:
B1 lays down a perfect bunt, streaks through 1B, turns to come back to 1B, F5 retrieves bunted ball & throws to F1 in the circle.
At this point, B1 has not had her one stop that she's entitled to. If she breaks for 2B, is she violating 8.7.T.3.b,c or d?

For NFHS and ASA, when BR overruns first there really isn't a "one stop" as much as there is "where is she committed." Once the ball is controlled in the circle, the direction the BR is going makes all the difference. If she is committed toward first, she cannot go to second. If she is committed to second, she is committed to second. While umpire judgement factors in to "commitment", for me, she is committed when she steps toward first or steps toward second. See ASA RS#34 G.

youngump Fri May 15, 2015 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 962392)
For NFHS and ASA, when BR overruns first there really isn't a "one stop" as much as there is "where is she committed." Once the ball is controlled in the circle, the direction the BR is going makes all the difference. If she is committed toward first, she cannot go to second. If she is committed to second, she is committed to second. While umpire judgement factors in to "commitment", for me, she is committed when she steps toward first or steps toward second. See ASA RS#34 G.

Scenario: batter runner overruns first and turns right and then realizes that the throw to first has sailed over the F3's head. Batter runner then advances toward second getting about 1/2 of the way there. Pitcher gets ball in circle. BR freezes and then goes back toward first. LBR violation? I haven't read the RS since I don't have it here, but I don't feel like the rule is meant to be read that way.

CecilOne Fri May 15, 2015 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 962401)
Scenario: batter runner overruns first and turns right and then realizes that the throw to first has sailed over the F3's head. Batter runner then advances toward second getting about 1/2 of the way there. Pitcher gets ball in circle. BR freezes and then goes back toward first. LBR violation? I haven't read the RS since I don't have it here, but I don't feel like the rule is meant to be read that way.

Looks like one stop to me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1