The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2015, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Question deals with overrunning into right field (8.7.T.3.b,c,d). Is the point where she turns to come back considered her "one stop" as far as the LBR is concerned?

Play 1:
Events are in this exact order: B1 bunts, def sees no play, throws to F1 in circle. BR overruns, turns,comes back toward 1B, breaks for 2B. No question, out.

Play 2:
B1 lays down a perfect bunt, streaks through 1B, turns to come back to 1B, F5 retrieves bunted ball & throws to F1 in the circle.
At this point, B1 has not had her one stop that she's entitled to. If she breaks for 2B, is she violating 8.7.T.3.b,c or d?
For NFHS and ASA, when BR overruns first there really isn't a "one stop" as much as there is "where is she committed." Once the ball is controlled in the circle, the direction the BR is going makes all the difference. If she is committed toward first, she cannot go to second. If she is committed to second, she is committed to second. While umpire judgement factors in to "commitment", for me, she is committed when she steps toward first or steps toward second. See ASA RS#34 G.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1