The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2003, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
I agree the runner has done nothing illegal by advancing to a base she can't have. BUT if she or the coach realizes the mistake and "retreats" to 3rd base, I still think she's gotta retrace her steps, meaning she has to go through home. I agree with your statement if the umpire tells her to go back to 3rd. There is no reason to retrace the steps.


That's a different story, and I agree, that would be the case. Not a smart move, but I guess it would be possible.

This is the question which was answered by the state UIC, but it wasn't the question which was asked. In the original question, there was absolutely NO mention of the runner attempting to return, but merely asked if the runner was still in jeopardy after scoring.
Now I'm confused, Mike.

Earlier, you said (and convinced me) that the runner who has touched home was no longer in jeopardy. How does retreating back to 3rd base place her back in jeopardy? This wouldn't be true for any other age runner, why here?

As I said above, I can see an interference call, but not a tag out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1