![]() |
|
|
|||
Obstruction
ASA and no one on base. Batter hits a ball to the fence. As the batter-runner rounds 1st they are obstructed. Runner now continues on rounding 2nd and 3rd and heads for home. Close play at home and runner is tagged just before reaching the plate.
Is obstruction still in play? If the runner hadn't been obstructed this would have been and inside the parker. Is obstruction off because the play wasn't at 2nd base? I've tried to understand the rule as written and it isn't clear in my old and worn out brain. Thanks
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made! ![]() |
|
|||
You already answered your own question. You said absent the obstruction it would have been a parker. The obstruction rule states at the conclusion of play you award the base or bases the runner would have reached absent the obstruction.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with your conclusion, but after you call the R out, then call time and award R Home, I am sure that you will be ejecting the Defensive HC shortly thereafter, LOL! MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
You do NOT call the R out. The approved ruling and mechanic is to NOT call the out if you will then need to reverse that out. According to RS #36, Call "Dead Ball" (not time, that is baseball) if/when the obstructed runner is apparently out before reaching the base you judge she would have reached, and award the appropriate base (the one she would have reached, in your judgement, had she not been obstructed).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
2) If other runners, is it last base touched or the "half-way rule" on the dead ball? 3) How do we avoid penalizing the defense with the dead ball, if they could get another out?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
1. Not sure on the NFHS guideline, but I have always handled it the same as ASA. 2. It is the Umpire's judgement. Benefit of the doubt goes to the offense. 3. The DEFENSE committed the violation by Obstructing the runner in the first place. If Why should they benefit by being allowed to get additional outs?
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If you were not the umpire who ruled the OBS, you call the play that unfolds in front of you. If the runner was out, you call the out. At that point, the ball is dead and you and your partner talk and apply any ruling necessary. Do NOT assume you know your partner's call. If you were the umpire who ruled the OBS and the runner had not reached the base to which s/he was protected, call "dead ball", announce the violation and award.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Thu Jan 29, 2015 at 09:53pm. |
|
|||
In the first example, I'm assuming that you mean, "If you were NOT the umpire who ruled OBS".
|
|
|||
Yes, thank you for the proof read
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Here's a play I had last night...
ASA Slowpitch. Hit to OF and runners are moving on hit. Trail runner going into 3rd on close tag play. Defense is at bag waiting for throw. I don't have obstruction cuz they aren't in front of bag. Runner slides and defense misses ball and a cluster scramble at base with both players being momentarily tangled up. Runner sees ball is not caught and tries to get up but defense is hindering that effort. I've now got obstruction. Play continues with a continuous obstruction and the runner eventually get up and is heading for home with defense still contacting him for about 3 feet. Defense, while still tangled up in the obstruction, is going after ball now but trying to go thru runner so they are now bumping each other for another 4 or 5 feet past 3rd....each of them trying to get free of the other. Any thoughts?
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made! ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstruction | sandrosina | Baseball | 1 | Mon Feb 07, 2011 03:08pm |
Obstruction? or out? | LIUmp | Softball | 14 | Mon Sep 13, 2010 04:56pm |
Obstruction at FB? | Saltydog | Baseball | 1 | Sat Jun 12, 2004 08:07pm |
Obstruction (OBR) | Kaliix | Baseball | 13 | Fri May 21, 2004 12:13am |
ASA obstruction | David Emerling | Softball | 39 | Tue May 20, 2003 10:00am |