The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2015, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Almost correct.

You do NOT call the R out. The approved ruling and mechanic is to NOT call the out if you will then need to reverse that out. According to RS #36, Call "Dead Ball" (not time, that is baseball) if/when the obstructed runner is apparently out before reaching the base you judge she would have reached, and award the appropriate base (the one she would have reached, in your judgement, had she not been obstructed).
This only works if the umpire who called the obstruction and knows the award base he's going to give is also the umpire who calls the runner out. In the OP, those would have been 2 different umpires. PU would not know BU's award judgement was home. If there was another runner on, PU might not even know there was obstruction at first.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction sandrosina Baseball 1 Mon Feb 07, 2011 03:08pm
Obstruction? or out? LIUmp Softball 14 Mon Sep 13, 2010 04:56pm
Obstruction at FB? Saltydog Baseball 1 Sat Jun 12, 2004 08:07pm
Obstruction (OBR) Kaliix Baseball 13 Fri May 21, 2004 12:13am
ASA obstruction David Emerling Softball 39 Tue May 20, 2003 10:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1