The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2003, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
WITHDRAW THE QUESTION.

I was trying to determine the actual timing of the ejection, and if you could eject a player after the game was over. It was my understanding that you could have malicious contact which results in ejection, but not necessarily an out.

However, as Tom pointed out, there is some legitimacy to calling the out in ASA. She is definitely out in NFHS. A sentence in the NFHS book that I have always missed is the penalty for 3.3.S Malicious Contact is "A player that has been ejected for initiating malicious contact shall be declared out unless she has already scored."

The actual case that I presented was not interference. If anything, obstruction should have been called and the runner awarded home. However, using the NFHS ruling, I would assume that the ejection/out would take precedence over the obstruction. If you awarded the obstruction first, than the runner would have scored, and could not be called out.

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1