![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Even with your assumption though, I'm not sure it's as bad as you're making it out. In the scenario where the runner successfully makes it back, the trailing runner does not legally have second. (It belongs to the lead runner not forced to vacate it). So technically you're not taking away anything from the offense that they have. (On the flip side though, you're not giving them an extra base which you would on the other side.) So that gets me thinking. On Saturday I saw a team that didn't seem to have ever explained to their players that two players can't occupy the same base. And the other team committed a lot of obstruction. Fortunately not at the same time, but suppose they had. Take this situtation: R1 at 2nd, R2 at 1st. Passed ball. R1 holds, R2 takes off for second running squarely into F4. R2 would easily have been the second player standing on second if she hadn't been obstructed. As it is she gets up and is thrown out on her way back to first. I think I'm putting her back on first since in my mind absent the obstruction she would never have legally attained 2nd base. Problematic to anyone? |
|
|||
Quote:
I get that the obstruction rule is not a punitive rule, but only sets things back to the way they would have been absent the obstruction. In your situation, however, your solution encourages the defense to obstruct since at worst, nothing changes and at best, they get an out. I'm more inclined to rule that the obstructed runner is awarded second and the other runner is awarded third because they were affected by the obstruction. I have always been inclined to give the benefit of the doubt to the offense in an obstruction scenario.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
The question you, the umpire, should be asking yourself is - what would have happened had there been no obstruction (without awarding an out) - the BEST result the offense could have in this situation, without assuming some error somewhere, is for R2 to make it back to first safely.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
What "doubt" is there here to give the offense the benefit of?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
It's finally clear to me, MD. If R1 slides in under the tag, she got to the base she would have been protected to, on her own, so the OBS is dropped. Basically, there never was an OBS, for the purposes of awarding bases. No one else is protected either.
In scenario 2, the aspect of the OBS rule that instantly kills the play prevents anyone from being put out. I can be taught! Last edited by jmkupka; Tue Sep 23, 2014 at 11:17am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
I have no problem with the present rule, but sometimes I question how some umpires get so tight with the enforcement. Some actually look for reasons to penalize or ignore parts of the rule when it isn't really that difficult.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
While it is generally true, OBS is not punitive, there are exceptions.
One that comes to mind that is not a TWP is this: B bunts ball to right side. F1 fields the ball, but F3 OBS. Award BR 1B, even though she would have been out by a mile.
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
So, if in the OP, R1 slides back into 2B under the tag, R2 can be tagged out (because he's not considered "affected" by the OBS), but but if R1 doesn't get under the tag, R2 is protected (because the ball is dead)?
Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Sep 22, 2014 at 02:53pm. |
|
|||
I didn't say that. But that seems to be the general consensus here. See the discussion between posts 6-9. I'm not completely comfortable with it but the discussion on the point seems to have died out.
|
|
|||
Not sure exactly what you're asking...
But if the obstructed runner is put out between the bases where he's protected, play is dead - nothing that happens afterward matters - and now you award bases. Before the play is dead, though, runners unaffected by the obstruction are in jeopardy. I believe that should answer your question.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
MD, just making sure that what I'm reading is correct:
R1, OBS between 2b & 3B (I have her protected back to 2B). During rundown, R2 comes in to 2B. R1 slides back into 2B just under the tag. R2 is tagged for an out. or R1 slides back, but the glove is 1" lower and gets her. Dead ball, R2 is protected back to 1st. Scenario 1, R2 is not "affected by OBS", but scenario 2 she is? I'm being dense. If you tell me that's correct, I believe you. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rundown: 6-3-2-5-1-5-3-6 | bainsey | Softball | 13 | Wed Aug 06, 2014 08:22am |
Rundown question | onetime1 | Baseball | 10 | Thu Jul 12, 2012 12:02pm |
Rundown and OBS | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 43 | Wed Apr 18, 2007 01:42pm |
Rundown Obstruction? | tzme415 | Softball | 14 | Sat Jan 14, 2006 05:32pm |
1st and 3rd rundown play | illiniwek8 | Baseball | 10 | Fri Jun 10, 2005 06:56pm |