The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 29, 2014, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
buried 2nd base

Worked this weekend at fields that were covered in deep dirt/sand. 2nd base was also recessed down into the ground to the point where it was impossible to keep it clean or even visable no matter how many times I cleaned it. Anytime a fielder or runner would come near it, it would become totally covered with no sense of it's location.

So, no one on. I'm in A. Batter hits a shot to left. She hits 1st, heads toward 2nd and we both realize that we can't see the outline of the base. Runner hits what she (and I) both think is the corner of the base (we can't really tell) runs about 15 feet toward 3rd then looks at me and asks "did I hit the base"? Without really thinking I said "yes". By that time the throw came into 3rd. The runner ran back toward 2nd and when F4 (who was covering) came toward the bag area, her feet kicked up dirt, revealing a corner of the bag. Runner arrives safely. Play over.

So in retrospect, should I have said anything to the runner when she asked if she hit the bag? I thought to say nothing was wrong (given the circumstances). But would I have answered if the bag was easy to see? I don't know. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2014, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Since you are not a coach, I would recommending not coaching.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2014, 06:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
So...if the batters box is non existant and the batter steps far up toward the pitcher and asks "am I still in the box", I should say nothing?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2014, 06:53am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,736
Apples and kumquats.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2014, 06:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
Worked this weekend at fields that were covered in deep dirt/sand. 2nd base was also recessed down into the ground to the point where it was impossible to keep it clean or even visable no matter how many times I cleaned it. Anytime a fielder or runner would come near it, it would become totally covered with no sense of it's location.

So, no one on. I'm in A. Batter hits a shot to left. She hits 1st, heads toward 2nd and we both realize that we can't see the outline of the base. Runner hits what she (and I) both think is the corner of the base (we can't really tell) runs about 15 feet toward 3rd then looks at me and asks "did I hit the base"? Without really thinking I said "yes". By that time the throw came into 3rd. The runner ran back toward 2nd and when F4 (who was covering) came toward the bag area, her feet kicked up dirt, revealing a corner of the bag. Runner arrives safely. Play over.

So in retrospect, should I have said anything to the runner when she asked if she hit the bag? I thought to say nothing was wrong (given the circumstances). But would I have answered if the bag was easy to see? I don't know. What do you think?
No, you shouldn't have said anything, but if you did say "yes", why did she go back to 2nd?

To continue, treat this situation that same as a detached base. If the runner is anywhere in the vicinity of where the base is supposed to be, consider the base touched and move on. As referring to vicinity, I'm not talking about cutting a corner by 10'. A runner usually has a pretty good idea where the base should be. If anyone wants to argue, they should take it up with the TD/complex owner/ground crew. It is NOT the umpire job to maintain the field and obviously it is not something that you can rectify.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2014, 06:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
So...if the batters box is non existant and the batter steps far up toward the pitcher and asks "am I still in the box", I should say nothing?
Well, if you allow the pitch, by rule your answer must be yes. Otherwise, you should be holding the pitcher until the batter is in the box. And instructing the batter to do so is not coaching.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2014, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Apples and kumquats.
Kumquats, yummy!!!
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 30, 2014, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No, you shouldn't have said anything, but if you did say "yes", why did she go back to 2nd?
Throw came into 3rd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
To continue, treat this situation that same as a detached base. If the runner is anywhere in the vicinity of where the base is supposed to be, consider the base touched and move on. As referring to vicinity, I'm not talking about cutting a corner by 10'. A runner usually has a pretty good idea where the base should be. If anyone wants to argue, they should take it up with the TD/complex owner/ground crew. It is NOT the umpire job to maintain the field and obviously it is not something that you can rectify.
Agree.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2014, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No, you shouldn't have said anything, but if you did say "yes", why did she go back to 2nd?

.
Because the ball was at 3B.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base NCASAUmp Softball 20 Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am
1st base or 3rd base extended? JR12 Baseball 21 Wed Apr 18, 2007 01:16pm
what's base is your favorite base to pay? softballbabe14 Softball 5 Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:01pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
first base safety base sneallyk Baseball 3 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1