The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 12, 2014, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
You CANNOT call obstruction on a fielder that has the ball.

Whether you can, or should, in this case use rule 10 to rule on a situation not covered in the rulebook (a situation which seems to me to be something that could easily be foreseen by the rulesmakers and thus would be in the rulebook if they wanted it to be against the rules ...) is the issue at hand.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 12, 2014, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The rule book is clear that obstruction can only be called on a fielder who is not in possession of the ball (ISF excepted) who is impeding the progress of the runner.

Putting it another way, impeding the progress of the runner is in the "job description" of a defensive player with the ball.

But, does this legal impeding include grabbing, hooking, tripping, or tackling and THEN making the play on the runner?

I have a hard time with that being the situation intended to be covered by the obstruction rule, but short of using 10-1, it would seem an out is the only call supported by the book.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1