![]() |
|
|
|||
He indicated in another post the batter/runner fell short of 1st base so having passed the base never came into play.
|
|
|||
I'm still waiting for something that isn't apparent to me, even after a multitude of cups of coffee. I don't understand how this isn't a pretty straightforward situation, especially since Mike felt compelled to ask for a specific rule set.
Is there something out there where this F3 would be guilty of some infraction? I cannot see awarding the BR first base here since F3 had possession of the ball.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
I don't think there's anything not apparent to you, or the rest of us. I think this is one of those, "Something looked odd there but I didn't know what to call, so I'll ask about it on the forum" situations. And as it turns out, there's nothing to call.
It could be one of those "an umpire in my game called XXXXX on a weird play in my game and I didn't understand why, so I'll ask about it on the forum" situations - in which case the umpire probably messed up.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
It's a case of "the right call just doesn't seem right". The fielder extended her leg into the path of the runner, tripping the runner, and without tripping the runner, was not going to get the out.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Where it gets even more dicey is when you see something blatant, and there's nothing you can really do about it, short of a warning for unsporting behavior. Say with R1 at first, there's a ground ball to F4, and after fielding it, she falls face-first to the ground in R1's path. R1 tries to hurdle F4, and F4 intentionally lifts one of her legs and trips her. As R1 does her own faceplant, F4 recovers and tosses the ball to F6 covering second. I don't think there's a rule that you can use here to award R1 second base.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|