![]() |
|
|
|||
What is this?
No runners on base. Batter hits an infield grounder to F5, who fumbles a bit, and makes a not very good throw to F3, pulling F3 off the bag toward home. F3 makes the catch, but is reaching back with her foot to try to find the bag, unsuccessfully. Her flailing foot/leg is stretched out into foul territory, tripping up the BR, who goes down. F3 does find the bag and touch it before the BR can scramble over to the base.
So, what is this?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
From description of F3 reaching for the base with foot I would assume this happened right at 1st base. Did batter/runner fall past the base after being tripped? If so, by rule they are considered to have touched the base until properly appealed. I would not consider F3 to have made a proper appeal unless they verbally indicated the batter/runner had missed the base.
|
|
|||
Can't have obstruction since F3 has the ball in her possession. She didn't intentionally trip the BR (and even if she had, I'm not sure what rule you would use to award the BR first since it's still not covered by the obstruction rule).
I don't see anything that would warrant a call other than an out at first on the BR, unless I'm missing something.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
ASA.
Also, to answer RKBUmp's question, she was far enough up the line that the BR fell just short of 1B, so no appeal.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
He indicated in another post the batter/runner fell short of 1st base so having passed the base never came into play.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|