![]() |
|
|
|||
Batter runner/ 1st baseman contact
Utrip tourney but any rule set is good. My question is about a play that didn't happen, but I wondered what would have been the ruling if a different scenario took place. This is what did happen...
Batter hits a hard spinner about half way up the first base line in foul territory. It spins hard as F3 runs down the line. As BR is approaches, F3 touches ball in foul territory. Nothing but a foul ball. But what if F3 picked up the ball in fair territory in this scenario and instead of simply waiting to put a tag on BR, she turns and attempts to beat the BR to 1st base. And as BR attempts to outrun F3, there is contact of the feet, with F3 falling and BR reaching 1st safely? Do you have basic interference? Did she "illegally" impede F3? Doesn't the BR have a right to attempt to beat F3 in a footrace to the bag? Am I overthinking everything? |
|
|||
Quote:
My opinion, you are overthinking the situation. I have no call in this play, much like a pass interference or no pass interference play in football. Just because the feet tangle, doesn't mean pass interference. The BR has a duty to run to first base, and as long as she is not going outside the 3 foot allowable distance (out of the base path), then she has a right (and a duty) to run directly to the base. I am also not awarding the defense for making a play that puts herself in jeopardy of losing control of the ball or being knocked down. Now if there is an obvious push or malicious contact then we have an issue and the rulebook penalty (out, or out and ejection) will be applied as needed. |
|
|||
My Call.
Unless I am completely wrong, I am reading the description of the play as follows: When F3 gains control of the ball in Fair Territory, I am assuming that F3 is between the B/R and 1B. If this is the case then B/R has committed interference whether or not the contact was intentional or not intentional. Intent is not required for interference to occur.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Which "a batter-runner is out when..." subsection do you think this qualifies as? I just went through A-N one at a time, and this situation is not mentioned.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
MD: Why is it not interference? If F3 is between 1B and the B/R, how is not interference for B/R to trip (intentional or not) F3 in order to reach 1B before F3 does? MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Probably, but challenging questions are our sustenance, even if SWP.
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Catcher Batter Contact | tankmjg24 | Baseball | 6 | Tue May 31, 2011 11:04am |
Batter-Runner and possible 1st Baseman Obstruction? | mkntrds | Softball | 5 | Sat Apr 17, 2010 08:36pm |
Runner knocks 1st baseman down | mccann | Softball | 8 | Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:08am |
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter | wfwbb | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm |
Batter Interference on catcher throw to third baseman | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Mon Jun 11, 2001 02:42pm |