![]() |
|
|||
Speaking ASA
Bottom 7th, score tied at 8-8. Bases loaded, one out. High pop-up toward F6. Umpire rules "infield fly". F6 is set up to catch the ball, but loses it in the sun at the last second. F6 covers his head for protection and the ball lands behind him as all runners break for the next base. However, there is backspin on the ball which causes it to come back and hit R2's leg while on his way to 3B, but prior to R1 crossing the plate. What's your call?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
"Bottom 7th, score tied at 8-8" doesn't matter.
Is R2 behind F6 or vice-versa? If the ball landed is coming back toward F6, does that mean F6 or some other fielder still had a chance to make an out?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
![]()
Based on the information you have provided, I'm going to assume,and you know what that means, no one was trying to get the ball after it hit the ground, so no call, run scores, and I can have that beverage now. I know there are some in your vehicle.
__________________
Bob Del-Blue NCAA, ASA, NFHS NIF |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Play?
I agree with the others. Since F6 had his head covered, I assume there was no play being made on the ball. It has already passed an infielder, so that rule is no longer a consideration.
However, if the blue did call an out on this, the timing of the lead runner crossing the plate wouldn't matter. Immediate dead ball, all runners stay where they are, no one scores, play the next inning. From what you gave us, I don't believe this would be the correct call, however. Rick |
|
|||
I'll jump in with a "no call" - Batter is still out, run scores, & game over.
Sorry to hear about the stolen stuff, Mike. But since mine wasn't stolen, I'm still having one or two of those beverages that are on ice in the cooler. Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I agree with the others...no call, run scores, game over.
The only caveat would be if F5 somehow has a play after the ball landed. Mike - this seems too easy, there has to be more to this story!
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Re: Play?
Quote:
The runner crossing the plate is extremely important. If such a call was made, runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. If a runner scored prior to the interference, that runner does not come back.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Re: Re: Play?
Quote:
Is my "F6 or some other fielder still had a chance to make an out" point relevant in this case?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
During a game???? or some other time?? I make a motion that we use association money to buy..... Sorry, I thought I was at a meeting.
__________________
Bob Del-Blue NCAA, ASA, NFHS NIF |
|
|||
Re: Re: Re: Play?
Quote:
A lot to try to sequence in your head at the time of the call...
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|