The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Bases loaded walk (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97762-bases-loaded-walk.html)

CecilOne Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 932057)
Ok, so the batter receives Ball Four, and the pitch gets away from the catcher. The BR rounds first on her way to second base and makes it safely. The defensive coach instructs his team to do a Live Ball appeal at first because the BR missed first base (which she did). F2 throws the ball to first base and it gets away from F3 and goes down the right field line.

Is the BR allowed to go back and touch first? Or is she no longer able to because she advanced and touched second?

Second is not an awarded base in this case.

youngump Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 932044)
That would be because this is the only instance where a base award happens during a live ball.

This is not correct. Albeit, I've never seen the other case.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 932071)
This is not correct. Albeit, I've never seen the other case.

Can you name another instance? I believe tom is correct.

But let me suggest this ;)

Is not a baserunner permitted to set their own basepath?

What if you have the runner taking a couple steps past home to pick up a discarded bat and then turn to touch the plate?

Not saying it is the smartest move in the world, but there certainly isn't anything wrong with it, either. Point is, where are you drawing the line?

youngump Thu Apr 17, 2014 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 932074)
Can you name another instance? I believe tom is correct.

But let me suggest this ;)

Is not a baserunner permitted to set their own basepath?

What if you have the runner taking a couple steps past home to pick up a discarded bat and then turn to touch the plate?

Not saying it is the smartest move in the world, but there certainly isn't anything wrong with it, either. Point is, where are you drawing the line?

Yes I can, but I didn't in the first post to give everbody time to think. Handling the ball with detached equipment is a live ball award.

chapmaja Thu Apr 17, 2014 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 932074)
Can you name another instance? I believe tom is correct.

But let me suggest this ;)

Is not a baserunner permitted to set their own basepath?

What if you have the runner taking a couple steps past home to pick up a discarded bat and then turn to touch the plate?

Not saying it is the smartest move in the world, but there certainly isn't anything wrong with it, either. Point is, where are you drawing the line?

Key word in your post. PASSED. Under Fed rules when she has PASSED a base she is said to have touched the base. For a runner coming from 3b home, there is a very clear line as to what past the base is. It is the first base line, which is nicely drawn on the field of play for everyone to see.

If the runner stays over toward the 3b dug out to pick up a bat then touches home we have a different situation because she has not passed home plate yet and at this point she is still allowed to set her own base path as no play can legally be made on her since she is getting an awarded base.

Manny A Thu Apr 17, 2014 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 932059)
Second is not an awarded base in this case.

No, but first base was. And I was trying to counter Mike's point that there is nothing written that treats the case of a live ball base award any differently than a dead ball base award.

He said that since there is no difference between the two, then you could argue that the BR who advances to second on a walk/wild pitch while not touching first base would not be able to return to first to correct her mistake while the ball remains live. After all, she wouldn't be able to do that on a dead ball award. But I think we all would agree that the BR could return during live ball play.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Apr 17, 2014 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 932082)
Key word in your post. PASSED. Under Fed rules when she has PASSED a base she is said to have touched the base. For a runner coming from 3b home, there is a very clear line as to what past the base is. It is the first base line, which is nicely drawn on the field of play for everyone to see.

If the runner stays over toward the 3b dug out to pick up a bat then touches home we have a different situation because she has not passed home plate yet and at this point she is still allowed to set her own base path as no play can legally be made on her since she is getting an awarded base.

So, your position is you would rule differently based on which dugout her team may be in when she hasn't touched home nor entered dead ball territory? After all, if her team is in the third base dugout, she might never have "passed" the base, while missing it by even MORE than the OP.

Do you not see how that distinction would treat the teams on the field differently for doing the exact same thing? Do you think that would be the intent of any rule or approved ruling?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 17, 2014 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 932082)
Key word in your post. PASSED. Under Fed rules when she has PASSED a base she is said to have touched the base. For a runner coming from 3b home, there is a very clear line as to what past the base is. It is the first base line, which is nicely drawn on the field of play for everyone to see.

If the runner stays over toward the 3b dug out to pick up a bat then touches home we have a different situation because she has not passed home plate yet and at this point she is still allowed to set her own base path as no play can legally be made on her since she is getting an awarded base.

Using this logic, a runner who shortcuts the base cannot be considered as having touched is because they never passed it.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 17, 2014 09:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 932080)
Yes I can, but I didn't in the first post to give everbody time to think. Handling the ball with detached equipment is a live ball award.

I disagree. That is an exemption from liability to be put out, not an award.

And making it an award would preclude the runner from returning to touch a missed base or base left too soon

youngump Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 932121)
I disagree. That is an exemption from liability to be put out, not an award.

Since award isn't defined by rule I guess you you could make that claim but I'm not sure what the difference would be. The rule for a dropped third strike that is fielded with detached equipment specifically refers to to an award of first base.

chapmaja Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 932116)
Using this logic, a runner who shortcuts the base cannot be considered as having touched is because they never passed it.

When do you consider a runner to have passed the base? You need to be able to answer that question to be able to rule on appeals for a missed base.

There is no difference between a runner who misses a base by stepping with one foot on either side of the base, and running 10 feet inside of the base, short cutting the infield. As soon as they pass the base, they are subject to appeal for missing the base. Home plate is no different. As soon as they pass home plate they are subject to appeal for missing the plate.

The way the rules are written, yes the umpire needs to rule on the team on the third base side different from the first base side. Given the way the rules regarding running awarded bases, making plays on an runner awarded a base, and appeals are written, the runner for a team in the third base dug out would need to do something else to be ruled out on appeal, such as enter dead ball territory, or not have touched the base before the next pitch.

One other thing to consider, the umpire can rule the play dead under casebook play 8-3-11 situation c, when the runner acts in a manner not consistent with fair play. If the runner is intentionally not touching home plate, the umpire can declare the ball dead, require the runner to touch home plate, and issue a warning for unsportsmanlike behavior.

CecilOne Fri Apr 18, 2014 07:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 932127)
One other thing to consider, the umpire can rule the play dead under casebook play 8-3-11 situation c, when the runner acts in a manner not consistent with fair play. If the runner is intentionally not touching home plate, the umpire can declare the ball dead, require the runner to touch home plate, and issue a warning for unsportsmanlike behavior.

Oh, come on. :eek: Back to earth, please.

chapmaja Fri Apr 18, 2014 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 932138)
Oh, come on. :eek: Back to earth, please.

There is a reason the casebook play is in the casebook. Somewhere a team tried gaining an advantage by having a player do what is in the casebook play.

RKBUmp Fri Apr 18, 2014 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 932145)
There is a reason the casebook play is in the casebook. Somewhere a team tried gaining an advantage by having a player do what is in the casebook play.


And where in any of the original play do you ascertain the runner is intentionally not touching the plate?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 932125)
Since award isn't defined by rule I guess you you could make that claim but I'm not sure what the difference would be. The rule for a dropped third strike that is fielded with detached equipment specifically refers to to an award of first base.

Okay, if you insist, but how can you make an award if the BR is permitted to continue beyond that base? Awards are applied at the end of a play, not during. When there is a fielder who uses detached equipment, do you make a DDB signal and announce the base to which the runner/BR is "awarded" or do you let the play finish and then ensure the runners achieve or are awarded the appropriate number of bases.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1