![]() |
|
|
|||
There is a reference in the NFHS Case Book where an illegal bat is removed from the game "or made to be legal". But in those situations, what made the bats illegal was something that could be fixed by removing tape and pine tar from the bat handles. The question is: When a bat cools back down after being placed in a warmer, does that make it legal again?
The rules are not clear on that. NFHS (and NCAA, by the way) consider warmed bats as altered bats that are structurally changed, which is in the same category as rolled or shaved bats. Frankly, I think that's a ludricous comparison. Structural changes to rolled or shaved bats are permanent in nature. I've never seen anything anywhere that says structural changes to warmed bats stay that way even after being cooled. But because NFHS lumps warmed bats together with rolled and shaved bats, they leave no recourse to make those bats legal. The one case play in the case book about warmed bats does not say anything about those bats becoming legal once they're cooled off. So to answer your questions, if a team doesn't have any bats to use, then a forfeit is warranted. What else are you going to do? The other team isn't obliged to provide them with equipment. Serves the team right for putting every one of their bats into their hillbilly bat warmer. And as for game 2 of a DH, they'd better go to the store and buy one bat that hasn't been structurally altered if they want to play.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Manny raises good points.
However, every game is different. A separate entity. I would not let these bats be "made legal" for game one. However, I would do a bat check again at the beginning of game two. If they are not warm, they are legal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
In my opinion, two days later or an hour later really doesn't make a difference, it is a different game. I know this was a topic of discussion last year as well at one of the associations. Some umpires say it's out for both games, others say if they are legal when you check prior to game two, they are legal for game two because they are two distinct and separate games. |
|
|||
Quote:
Hell, in a JV game, this would be an interesting bet. Unless you squeeze your zone.... ![]()
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
You have a point. Nowhere in the rules does it say that a batter must entered the batters box with a bat.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yeah, while the book doesn't outright say the batter must enter the box with a bat, what I highlighted in 3-6-1 certainly implies it.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Yes, but where does it say a bat is required? Required equipment is listed elsewhere - a bat is not one of them. Specifications are layed out as to what a legal bat is vs an illegal one --- but no where is it required.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
If you really want to play that game, where does it say a batter can't use TWO bats while batting? Would you allow it?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
"and/or" IOW, if they must use all required equipment, and if they use equipment (required or not) it must be legal. No where does it state (nor would I infer) that all legal equipment is required to be used. But, no point making a federal case out of what was basically a joke! ![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
A Catcher shall wear.... A batter shall wear a batting helmet..... All fielders shall ..... Nowhere that I can find does it say a batter shall enter the batters box with a legal bat. Yes, it does seem like strange wording, but in a legal sense, it doesn't say a batter is required to have a bat with them when they enter the box. Lord knows, I really hope this never happens. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Today's game was so bad, in the last inning the winning team got a base on balls, and he told his runner just to keep running, knowing she would be thrown out at some point. After two overthrows she scored the final run. Half the outs called were for runners leaving early (intentionally). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A Friend | Dave Dow | Basketball | 48 | Mon Nov 22, 2010 02:48am |
A Referee's Best Friend! | grunewar | Basketball | 9 | Mon Nov 08, 2010 08:31pm |
This was sent to me by a friend | jack015 | Football | 8 | Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:33am |