The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,375
Seriously?

According to MLB this is no longer an out. How long until it filters down to us???

Rangers manager Ron Washington ejected after call is overturned Monday | Mariners.com: News
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Certainly looks like a catch and a loss of the ball on transfer to throwing hand to me. Saw another last week on a play at 2nd the ruled no catch. What is this definition in MLB? Havent seen it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 11:26am
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
According to MLB this is no longer an out. How long until it filters down to us???

Rangers manager Ron Washington ejected after call is overturned Monday | Mariners.com: News
It all ready is with us. the catcher flipped the ball to his hand bobbled it so he has no control.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
It all ready is with us. the catcher flipped the ball to his hand bobbled it so he has no control.
But the catch is a catch. What if the play ended with the catch? Are you going to require a transfer to see if the catch was legit????

I will continue to rule on the catch, as an umpire, and not on the transfer.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,375
More exhibits as to just how badly MLB umpires have lost their minds:

Baseball’s New Strategy: Drop the Ball on Purpose | FanGraphs Baseball
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
It all ready is with us. the catcher flipped the ball to his hand bobbled it so he has no control.
By that definition then, even if the catcher had controlled the ball with the throwing hand it should not be an out because control was not established until after he removed his foot from the base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 11:53am
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
But the catch is a catch. What if the play ended with the catch? Are you going to require a transfer to see if the catch was legit????

I will continue to rule on the catch, as an umpire, and not on the transfer.
just going by the book.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Texas
Posts: 429
the flip of the ball to the throwing hand is a 'voluntary release' ... catch!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 12:30pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
What is this definition in MLB? Havent seen it.
This is what someone posted on the baseball discussion board. It apparently comes from the Wendlestedt Umpire School.

Quote:
"In determining whether a fielder drops the ball 'while in the act of making a throw following the catch' in accordance with Rule 2.00, the umpires will determine whether the fielder obtained possession of a ball in flight but dropped the ball while in the act of making a throw during the momentum of the catch. For example, if the shortstop, in an effort to turn a double play, throws to the second baseman, who drops the ball while in the act of drawing back his arm to make a throw to first base, the second baseman shall be adjudged to have had secure control of the ball and thus the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught by the second baseman. However, it shall not be adjudged to be a catch if, while in the act of making a throw during the momentum of the catch, the fielder loses possession of the ball in the transfer (e.g., flip from the glove) before he secures the ball with his throwing hand.

"Our emphasis: The 'flip' itself is not deemed a voluntary release, even though it may be a voluntary action. This is an update you will find in the 2014 Rules and Interpretations Manual. We have removed the exclusive interpretation offered for a number of year providing that it only be an attempted voluntary release. This is no longer the case. The release must be voluntary. Additionally, this interpretation has been merged with a tag of a base as well on the front end of a double play attempt. He must secure the ball in his throwing hand before it will be deemed secure possession was made."
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Did that happen to come from the same person who wrote the NFHS courtesy runner interpretation over on the baseball board?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Here's what I'm waiting for.

Bases loaded, no outs. Shallow fly ball to right field. F9 appears to catch the ball, then jogs to the pitcher. Then flips the ball to his throwing hand so he can hand it to the pitcher - but he fails to catch the flip.

No catch.

Pitcher gets the ball, they then throw home, then 3rd, then 2nd. Triple play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 01:10pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Did that happen to come from the same person who wrote the NFHS courtesy runner interpretation over on the baseball board?
It doesn't matter. It's obvious that the MLB replay officials are going by it.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2014, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Intersting that they appear to be going by some rule from an umpire school when the following is taken directly from the MLB rulebook posted on the MLB website.

Quote:
If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
It all ready is with us. the catcher flipped the ball to his hand bobbled it so he has no control.
Bullshit. The fact that the catcher COULD flip the ball from glove to bare hand demonstrates control.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2014, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
According to MLB this is no longer an out. How long until it filters down to us???

Rangers manager Ron Washington ejected after call is overturned Monday | Mariners.com: News
Y'all gotta forget MLB as a valid rule source. Just because there is a lot of money involved does not make it better or more authoritative than any other organization.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1