![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Agreed it is not a player substitution but it is a unreported positional substitution (substituted the pitcher with another defensive player in the game) that is covered by using Rule 3-3-3-b
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 3-3-3b does not apply in this situation. The reason is does not apply is the entire wording of 3-3-3. The key portion is ..... "a substitute has entered the game when b. a pitcher takes his her position on the pitchers plate. We need to go to rule 2-57-1 which define a substitute: A substitute is a player who is NOT LISTED on the lineup as a starter but who may legally replace a starting player. ........ In the OP, the player who came in to pitch was listed on the line, therefore she was not a substitute for the pitcher, so 3-3-3b does not apply. |
|
|||
|
No such animal, IB. When players switch position, it's nothing more than a defensive change. Only in NCAA ball does that require reporting and, if not, is treated the same as an unreported defensive substitution.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|