The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2003, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The rule is 8-2D, and in the EXCEPTION clause it says the following,
Quote:
Other than on a home run or four base award, runners cannot advance unless forced.
Interesting ... the BR has by context failed to advance and entered the team area, yet it looks like some runners may still be forced.

However, Case Play 8.2-12
Quote:
(FP Only) One out, R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B, the batter receives ball four and goes into the dugout. R1 is tagged by the catcher before he touches home.

RULING: Ball is live. Batter-runner is out for entering dead ball territory. Runner from third is out for being tagged off base as as the force is removed.(8-2D, 8-7B).
This is FP only because in SP the ball is dead on a walk, but it seems that with the BR being out for entering DBT, the force is removed.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1