![]() |
|
|||
|
I'm going with two bases from the time of the throw. Why?
- That would be in-line with all other softball codes. - The case book is notorious for making editorial gaffes. - The "default" has always been that if a case play conflicts with a playing rule, the playing rule prevails. - The case play states, "In this situation, or any other situation where the detached glove or mitt touches a ball, prior to the ball becoming dead because of going into a dead-ball area, the rule governing detached player equipment prevails". So, there is definitely something a little bit "off" about that case play. It tells us which rule prevails, then gives a ruling that contradicts that very rule! I'm sticking with the printed rule. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Why the Seeming Discrepancy? | Freddy | Basketball | 2 | Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:23am |
| point discrepancy | Putty | Basketball | 18 | Sat Jan 13, 2007 02:32am |
| ASA UNIFORMS & EQUIP. | chuck chopper | Softball | 13 | Tue Oct 18, 2005 06:35pm |
| Pitch Lodged in Umpire's Equip @ HP | isneths | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:48am |
| Detached Equip - Ball foul | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am |