The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2003, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Re: Memory don't fail me now...

Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
It has been a few years since ASA. But... I believe a BR cannot back away from advancing to 1st (can stop but cannot back-up).
True, but only when the batter-runner is attempting to avoid or delay a tag. No tag is possible on a walk, so this rule does not apply.

Quote:
Sounds like the runner gave up his opportunity to advance and should have been called out when he first abandoned any effort to advance.
See my answer above. The runner is not out for giving up or for abandoning this attempt to advance - ASA does not have that rule. He would have been out, though, for entering the bench area (fast pitch). The ASA rule is virtually the same as the FED rule you quoted.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1