The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2003, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Question

Last night I was watching an ASA men's softball game. A batter had earned a walk, however he thought he was out. He walked all the way back to the bench. The defensive team appealed and threw the ball to first. As the defense shouted at the ump, the man came back and went to first. The umpire, puzzled by the situation, decided that since he did not see the man go back to the bench, he should be safe. I immediately saw that as the wrong call, once a batter/runner leaves the field or base line he should be out. After further thinking, I am having trouble with the call because if a batter earns a walk, he has a right to first base, once he gets there, he's liable to be out. What does anyone else think?
__________________
Nick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1