The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 07, 2003, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
This happened a couple days ago and the Rec Director last night asked for my opinion on the call.

ASA - Top of 7th, visitors down by a run, runner on 3B, 2 outs. Batter hits fly ball near 3B and the lights go out. Before the startled umpire can say anything, the ball is caught.

End of game, everyone went home. But an umpire's (private) discussion ensued. "Should time have been called the instant the lights went out?" Could dead ball have been called retroactively, thus negating the catch. If the ball had dropped to the ground because the fielder could not see, and the runner scored - would you (could you) have allowed that?

The results are varied.

#1 - if you declare the ball dead at the instant the lights went out, and do not allow the results of the play, then you have a regulation game and home team wins.

#2 - if you do not call time until the end of the play, then (a) you have a catch and the game is over, home team wins. Or (b) the ball drops, game tied, and you have a suspended game - come back next week and finish it.

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1